Hold me, I’m scared!

Posted on August 16, 2009

0


Fear is a terrible thing. And while some fears are justified, they are mostly overblown. Putting your fears into perspective is difficult. My first job out of college was a contact job working on the software for a blood banking system (I’m sure I’ve written about it before). Knowing you could kill someone if you screwed up the code… that’s fear! I can see how that might paralyze you from changing the code. On the other hand, if you knew something was wrong with the project, it is the same fear that would drive you to action.

In my case, the company was developing a new test for some sort of antibody screening. As I understand it, there are several types of blood products you can give the machine that it recognizes – centrifuged whole blood, plasma, or serum. For all intents and purposes, plasma and serum are interchangeable in the types of blood tests that the system could perform. However, this new test being developed for the system only worked with plasma (or serum, I can’t remember which, but it doesn’t matter except that it only worked with one of the two blood products). However, since in the entire history of tests they were interchangeable we listed the available option as “plasma OR serum.” Now, the people using the machine were supposed to know that they should only use the right product, but the machine didn’t have any warning about it.

While I knew there was something wrong with our system, I feared telling them that they needed to delay the release of their new test was going to raise their anger. Who was I to tell them? I’m not a scientist, I’m a programmer. But I swallowed deeply and expressed my concern. Their reaction was miraculous! They listened! They stopped, looked at me, thought about it for a minute, and said “you’re right. What can we do about this?” Then they invited me (a just out-of-college programmer) to meet with their scientists and discuss a solution! The collective desire to produce the best product outweighed the fear of management’s ire that we were delaying the product while we solved this problem.

So it was with some disappointment that just this other day I encountered fear at the office again. In the business I work in, no matter what we do wrong, nobody will ever die. The risks are not nearly as great, but it is still a business and there must still be a drive to do what is best – and to be ready to hear it if we are not doing the best we can.

We were in the process of reviewing a random sample of defects which we had gone back and looked for root cause. The data was pretty detailed – people seem to remember their bugs very vividly for some reason, especially high severity bugs that cause us to back out of pilots. We took all this data and we grouped it up and looked for patterns of mistakes where we could improve the process. Lo and behold, one big thing that came out was basic coding errors – the kind that could be caught by a static analysis tool like JTest. Stupid stuff. So I said to the manager we were working with “we need to go back to development and tell them they’ve got some basic coding issues.”

At first his reaction was “isn’t that kind of cliché?” I said “why? If they have basic coding issues, they’re really there and easy to work on.”

“Isn’t it quality assurance’s fault too?” the manager said.

“When’s the last time that QA ever injected a defect into the code?” I replied. “This is a development problem and it needs to be solved by development.”

“We can’t go back to development and tell them they have sloppy programmers! They have some good programmers too!” he retorted.

Alas, fear won out over doing the right thing here. The manager I was working with feared that we couldn’t go back to development and tell them they had a basic problem. It was ok if we went to them and said “you’ve got requirements issues” or “you’ve got a knowledge gap” but for some reason, if the blame fell directly on their shoulders they were unwilling to hear “you’ve got a coding problem.” We’ll never know if they would be willing to hear it, because apparently we won’t be telling them the truth of the matter on that one. We’re afraid they might react badly.

Fear of doing the right thing: 1, Us: 0.

